Home » News

Murray Receives National Preventive Medicine Award

Carolyn Murray, MD, MPH, an assistant professor of medicine, community and family medicine, and of The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice at the Geisel School of Medicine, has received the 2020 Ronald Davis Award from the American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM).

Carolyn Murray, MD, MPH. Photo by Rob Strong.

Founded in 1954, the ACPM is a professional medical society of more than 2,000 physicians dedicated to improving the health and quality of life of individuals, families, communities, and populations through disease prevention and health promotion.

Each year, the ACPM honors six preventive medicine physicians and public health professionals for distinguished service to their fields and to the health of their communities. Named for Dr. Ronald Davis, the first preventive medicine physician to become president of the American Medical Association (AMA), the Davis award recognizes outstanding contributions to the practice of preventive medicine.

“I’m humbled to receive this award,” says Murray. “Ron Davis led a highly impactful career as a public health physician and was a phenomenal AMA president. Sadly, he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer towards the end of his term and died. He has been an inspiration to many of us working in this small specialty, and certainly was a role model for me as I think about my career at Dartmouth.”

Murray joined Geisel and Dartmouth-Hitchcock (D-H) in 1997 as the organization’s first preventive medicine specialist. Three years later, she was one of the founding faculty members of the Leadership Preventive Medicine Residency (LPMR) program—which combines quality improvement training and a Master of Public Health degree from The Dartmouth Institute with a clinical residency or fellowship at D-H.

Over the years, Murray has mentored dozens of residents in their public health and preventive medicine training, helping to grow the LPMR program into what is today the largest preventive medicine residency program in the country.