For Release: August 21, 2007
Contact: DMS Communications 603-650-1492

Print Version

Faculty and Resident Role Models Honored

HANOVER, NH—Dartmouth Medical School honored faculty and residents who received the Alma Hass Milham Awards for humane and ethical values.

The DMS awards are made annually to a faculty member and two housestaff who exemplify the professional and personal values of integrity and compassion that underlie medicine.

"... Recipients stand as role models for colleagues and learners at Dartmouth Medical School and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in the spirit of scientific and clinical excellence," reads the certificate. They "best exemplify humane and ethical values in the practice of medicine, compassion and sensitivity, an ability to meet the needs and expectations of patients, their families and referring physicians, and a special ability to represent the highest values of medicine as a public service."

Milham Awards—From left, Todd Poret, Campbell Levy, Paul Kispert, Theresa Lau,
Kane Anderson, Christopher Alessi, Erin Rowell, Franklin Lynch, Patrick Olson,
James Bernat, David Roberts.

The awards were established in 1991 with a gift from Alma Hass Milham and Charles G. Milham, a member of the Dartmouth College Class of 1906. The first awards were made in 1994.

Recipients from 2003 through 2007 were celebrated at a recent reception. Dr. David Roberts, a neurosurgeon who holds the Alma Hass Milham Distinguished Chair in Clinical Medicine at DMS, presented their awards.

Those honored were:

  • 2003-04—Paul D. Manganiello, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology, and division director of reproductive endocrinology and infertility; Christopher M. Alessi, MD, general surgery, and L. Campbell Levy, MD, medicine, residents.

  • 2004-05—Franklin (Buddy) Lynch, Jr., MD, assistant professor of orthopaedics, and section chief of orthopaedic surgery; William L. Harrison, MD, anesthesia, and Todd M. Poret, MD, pediatrics, residents.

  • 2005-06—James L. Bernat, MD, professor of medicine (neurology); Patrick R. Olson, MD, orthopaedic surgery, and Erin Rowell, MD, general surgery, residents.

  • 2006-07—Paul H. Kispert, MD, assistant professor of surgery and of anesthesiology (general surgery, trauma/critical care); Kane L. Anderson, MD, orthopaedic surgery, and S. Theresa Lau, MD, obstetrics and gynecology, residents.


Return to News Archives