COVID-19 Information

For Release: December 5, 2006
Contact: Sue Knapp 603-646-3661 or Lonnie Shekhtman (202) 326-6434

Print Version

American Association for the Advancement of Science Announces 2006 Fellows

Jennifer Loros, Professor of
Biochemistry and of Genetics
(Photo by: Joseph Mehling '69)

Dartmouth Medical School Professor of Biochemistry and of Genetics Jennifer Loros was recently awarded the distinction of AAAS Fellow. Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year 449 members were awarded this honor because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 17 at the 2007 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

As part of the section on biological sciences, Loros was elected as an AAAS Fellow for her research on the molecular dissection of the circadian clock using the mold model Neurospora crassa.

"I'm honored to be a part of this distinguished group, among the finest scientists in the world," says Loros. "My colleague's and my research contributes to science's understanding of biological clocks, and it's rewarding to be recognized for doing work that I find interesting and important."

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the Steering Groups of the Association's 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS Chief Executive Officer. A final list is forwarded to the AAAS's policymaking body called the Council, which votes on the list.


Return to News Archives