COVID-19 Information

For Immediate Release: June 11, 2001
Contact: DMS Communications (603) 650-1492
Print Version

Class Day 2001: DMS Graduates Honored

HANOVER, NH -- Best selling author and mind/body health pioneer, Rachel Naomi Remen, MD, addressed the Dartmouth Medical School graduating students and guests about "Living a Life of Service" at the 2001 class day and awards ceremony (Saturday, June 9).

Also speaking were medical student Rachel Solotaroff and MD/PhD student Adam Lee Hersh, who received a doctorate in evaluative clinical sciences.

The celebration recognized 132 DMS students who were among the 1,571 awarded degrees at Dartmouth College’s commencement ceremonies (Sunday, June 10): 64 received an MD, 20 received a PhD in the life sciences; and 48 received degrees in the evaluative clinical sciences, 3 PhD and 45 master’s.

John Baldwin, MD, DMS dean, Lori Arviso Alvord, MD, associate dean of student and multicultural affairs and David Nierenberg, MD, associate dean for medical education, presented student honors. Dean's Medal for best overall medical student achievement was awarded Gillian Greta Salton; the John W. Strohbehn Medal for Excellence in Biomedical Research was presented to Aaron M. Domina, pharmacology and toxicology PhD candidate; the Good Physician Award went to Judy Rebecca Richardson.

Additional medical student awards and citations were made at an earlier program (Friday, June 9). They included —Douglas P. Zipes, M.D. Research Prize in Medicine: Nina Rachel Lightdale; John and Sophia Zaslow Prize: Mirna Jusufbegovic; Saul Blatman Award for Excellence in Maternal and Child Health: Lara Christine Hanlon; Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Award: Gillian Greta Salton; Janet M. Glasgow Achievement Citations: Rachel Faye Gerson, Christine Brown Irish, Melissa Anne Meyers and Cheryl Kathleen Seymour; Rural Health Scholar Awards: Matthew Swain Therrien Duncan, Christine Brown Irish, Judy Rebecca Richardson and Rachel Solotaroff; Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey Humanism in Medicine Award: Jennifer Greenhow Keller; Hilda Weyl Sokol Award: Laura Therrien Duncan; Julian and Melba Jarrett Memorial Prize: Heidi Hallonquist; Merck Manual Awards: Pamela Lyn Kuntz and Stephen Kayode Williams; New England Pediatric Society Award: Sholeen T. Nett; John F. Radebaugh Community Service Award: Judy Rebecca Richardson and Cheryl Kathleen Seymour; Dartmouth-Mosenthal Surgical Society: Veronica Ann Arteaga, Tawyna Lynn Bowles, Melissa Anne Meyers, Darin James Saltzman and Robert Louis Weinsheimer.

Other department awards were — Frederic P. Lord Award in Anatomy: Eric Douglas Whiting; French Distinguished Student Award in Pathology: Kevin Gerard Donohue; Arthur Naitove Surgical Scholar Award: Melissa Anne Meyers; Excellence in Clinical Psychiatry: Benjamin R. Nordstrom; Excellence in Radiology: Daniel M. Sommers; Medicine: Julie Allison McGraw Taub; Anesthesiology Outstanding Graduating Student: Jennifer Greenhow Keller; Rolf C. Syvertsen Fellow: Gillian Greta Salton; Rolf C. Syvertsen Scholars: Tawnya Lynn Bowles, Julie Allison McGraw Taub, Sonja Kristine Olsen and Cheryl Kathleen Seymoure.

The new Dartmouth Medical School physicians will continue their training in generalist and specialty areas across the nation; 20 will remain in New England, including four at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center.

Hali Wickner

Return to News Releases