2.1   The voting population of the Council shall consist of two members elected from each department or constituency and one member from the major section of each department of the medical school. Members elected by each department/constituency must hold voting status or, if restricted/non-voting status (i.e., active emeritus, instructor), the Chair of the Faculty Council will consult with the Dean of Faculty Affairs to ascertain eligibility of elected members prior to confirming their membership. The definition of a major section will be determined by the Faculty Council. The general guideline for determining what is considered a major section will be that this section has departmental status in at least 50% of US Medical Schools.

2.2   To the extent possible, one member from each department shall be a faculty member at a senior rank; the second shall be at a junior rank, but this division is not mandatory. In clinical departments, ideally across the two representatives, one member shall have more of a clinically-facing focus and one member shall have more of a research-facing focus (e.g., one MD and one PhD).

2.3   Terms shall be for three years and ideally staggered.

  1. Departments
    • Anesthesiology
    • Biochemistry and Cell Biology
    • Biomedical Data Science
    • Community and Family Medicine
    • Dermatology
    • Emergency Medicine
    • Epidemiology
    • Medical Education
    •  Medicine
      • Specific sections each with an additional member:
        • Cardiology
        • Radiation Oncology
        • Hematology/Oncology
    • Microbiology and Immunology
    • Molecular and Systems Biology
    • Neurology
    • Obstetrics and Gynecology
    • Orthopedics
    • Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
    • Pediatrics
    • Psychiatry
    • Radiology
    •  Surgery
      • Specific sections each with an additional member:
        • Neurosurgery
        • Ophthalmology
        • Otolaryngology
        • Urology
        • Vascular Surgery
    • The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice
  2. There shall be two members elected to represent the community preceptors, and two to represent the White River Junction Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

2.4   At least one member from each department shall be expected to attend every Council meeting.

2.5   The past Chair or Vice Chair of the Council shall remain as a non-voting, advising, ex officio member for a period of at least one year after their term as chair ends.

2.6   Department chairs; assistant, associate and senior associate deans; and D-H and/or chief-level leadership may not serve as faculty council members. For any serving faculty council member who is promoted to one of these positions, their faculty council position will immediately be rescinded on the first official day in their new position. This condition holds true for permanent and interim appointments alike. For election of representatives, see section 4.

2.7   In instances where a Faculty Council member ascends to a new leadership position that is not one of the named positions in 2.6, the potential for conflict of interest would be determined by the steering committee, under the advisement of the Dean for Faculty Affairs.

2.8   If the Faculty Council Chair were to be appointed to a department chair or dean position, his/her term as Chair would end on the first day of the new position.  In this situation, he/she would be eligible to serve in the one-year, non-voting, ex officio past-Chair position. See sections 4.3 and 4.5.