Shane Chapman, MD, MBA, Named Chair, Department of Dermatology

We are pleased to announce that Shane Chapman, MD, MBA, has been named the inaugural Chair of the Department of Dermatology at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center and the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, a role he has held on an interim basis since 2020.

Dr. Chapman originally joined DHMC in 1996 as a resident. Following the completion of his training, he has served in various leadership roles including Chief of the Section of Dermatology where he was instrumental in elevating the section to full department status in 2020.

Dr. Chapman is a 1995 graduate of the University of Texas at Houston Medical School where he also completed his Internal Medicine residency. He also holds an MBA from the Sloan School of Management at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His clinical specialties include cutaneous oncology and melanoma immunotherapy, psoriasis, and laser and light therapy.

He has chaired the Laser Safety Committee at DHMC since 2014. From 2016 to 2020, he also served as Medical Director for Supply Chain in the Value Analysis Group where his insights and leadership were especially important amid the PPE shortages at the height of the pandemic. He was also a senior member of the Ambulatory COVID-19 Recovery Committee and served as the physician lead for the ambulatory financial performance improvement plan (PIP) in 2023.

In addition to his role as department chair, Dr. Chapman will continue to be involved in leading the organizational efforts around ambulatory access enhancement and optimization.

We hope you will join us in congratulating Shane on this well-deserved appointment. We look forward to his continued leadership of the department and his ongoing commitment and support for the education of our students, residents and fellows.

Duane Compton, PhD, Dean, Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine

Edward J. Merrens, MD, Chief Clinical Officer, Dartmouth Health