Leadership Announcement – Kathryn Kirkland, MD, Named Interim Chair, Department of Medicine

We are pleased to announce that Kathryn Kirkland, MD, has been named the Interim Chair of the Department of Medicine, following the retirement of Rich Rothstein.

Dr. Kirkland has served as section chief for Palliative Medicine since 2017 and the Dorothy and John J. Byrne, Jr., Distinguished Chair in Palliative Medicine at Geisel, where she is also a Professor of Medicine and of The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice at Geisel. She earned her medical degree from Dartmouth Medical School (now Geisel) in 1985 and completed her internal medicine residency training at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center (DHMC) and Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center. She attended Duke University Medical Center for fellowship training in infectious disease, followed later by a fellowship in Palliative Medicine at DHMC.

We are grateful to Kathy for agreeing to serve in this interim capacity while a national search is conducted to fill the permanent Chair position. She has the unique ability to see the full spectrum of care within the Department of Medicine from her experience as an infectious disease physician and through her leadership of Palliative Care. She is a talented academician, teacher, mentor and organizational leader and will be an excellent addition to the existing Department of Medicine team during a time of transition.

Please join us in wishing Kathy well as she takes on this expanded leadership role.

Duane Compton, PhD, Dean, Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine
Edward J. Merrens, MD, Chief Clinical Officer, Dartmouth Health