Help us Welcome Prasoona Karra

We want to welcome Prasoona Karra, PhD, as a postdoctoral fellow in the Lucas Salas lab. Prasoona completed her PhD at the University of Utah with Dr. Mary Playdon. Prasoona received an F99/K00 award from the NCI (K00CA264400) to study “Metabolic health phenotype, accelerated aging and obesity-related cancer risk and […]

Read More

Department Chair Dr. Karagas Leads IARC Meeting

In March, 2022, a Working Group of 31 scientists from 13 countries met remotely at the invitation of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) to finalise their evaluation of the carcinogenicity of nine agents: cobalt metal (without tungsten carbide or other metal alloys), soluble cobalt(II) salts, cobalt(II) oxide, […]

Read More

Ze Zhang Receives Neukom Award

Help us congratulate Ze on his award! The complete excerpt on Ze is below, with the full list of award winners here. 2nd Prize: Hierarchical Tumor Immune Microenvironment Epigentic Deconvolution Ze Zhang (Quantitative Biomedical Science, Epidemology) Advisor: Salas & Christensen The complexity of the tumor microenvironment (TME) impedes the cost-effective deconvolution […]

Read More

Dr. Howe featured in Geisel Insider

Epidemiology faculty Dr. Howe was featured in a recent issue of Geisel Insider focusing on her research. The article is originally written by Timothy Dean and you can read it here.