Syvertsen Fellows and Scholars

Every student who passed through Dartmouth Medical School between 1923 and 1960 remembers Rolf Syvertsen as a professor of anatomy, an administrator and dean, and, especially, a mentor. "Sy's boys" recall his gruff kindness, his sometimes unconventional methods, his loyal support, and his dry wit. A firm and demanding teacher, Syvertsen also nurtured his students' values as physicians, profoundly influencing the doctors they became.

Through his own example, "Dr. Sy" fostered academic accomplishment and scientific rigor, a passion for learning, and a love of medicine, while also cultivating in students a breadth and depth of human concern and a sense of community spirit and citizenship.

It is these values that the Syvertsen Scholars and Fellows program seeks to recognize and perpetuate at Geisel. Granted annually since 1985, the Syvertsen awards honor outstanding fourth-year students who are considered first among their peers in exemplifying the qualities Syvertsen stood for and that have become deeply embedded in the culture of the medical school. Scholars are nominated by a faculty committee, and a Fellow is selected from among this group by the Syvertsen Memorial Committee, composed of alumni. Awards to the Syvertsen Scholars and Fellows are funded by contributions to the Rolf C. Syvertsen Memorial Fund.

For more information, contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 603-653-0726 or via email at or visit their webpage.

The 2018-2019 Rolf C. Syvertsen Fellow and Scholars

Six members of the Class of 2019 at the Geisel School of Medicine were selected as the Rolf C. Syvertsen Scholars for 2018-2019 academic year, with one of the students, Aaron Briggs, also honored as Syvertsen Fellow. The six students who attended a dinner in their honor include Aaron Briggs (Fellow) Peter Kahng, Mega Bunnell, Thomas Kuczmarski, Margot Le Neveu and Rachael Mazzamurro-Romero.