COVID-19 Information

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is a professional medical organization, founded in 1902 that recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine.

AOA values include honesty, unselfishness, ethical ideals, dedication to serving others, honorable conduct, and leadership. Members have a compelling drive to do well and to advance the medical profession and exemplify the highest standards of professionalism.

The top 40 percent of a medical school class is eligible for nomination to the society, and up to 20 percent of the graduating class may be elected. Criteria include leadership, character, community service, and professionalism. Members may also be elected by chapters after demonstrating scholarly achievement and professional contributions and values during their careers in medicine.

Election to Alpha Omega Alpha is an honor signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism, and service. A lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician's dedication to the profession and art of healing.

Elections at Geisel

  • Geisel Election Process 2022
  • Election Committee Members
  • Class of 2022 Inductees


    • Caroline Andrew
    • Edel Auh
    • Bita Behrouzi
    • Mia Bertalan
    • Falen Demsas
    • Arati Gangadharan
    • Michael Hoggard
    • Emily Husson
    • Yasmin Kamal
    • Maggie Leech
    • Alexander Lindqwister
    • Evan McNeil
    • Joe Minichiello
    • George Sanchez
    • William Smith
    • Seoho (Michael) Song
    • Sam Tsai
    • Landis Walsh
    • Isabelle Yang
    • Leslie Yuen

    Previous Inductees

    AOA National Programs and Opportunities

    AOA sponsors multiple awards, fellowships and grants, which are open to all members of the community; you do not have to be an AOA member to apply. A detailed list of programs, instructions for applying, and deadlines can be found here. Please email the Geisel Chapter Councilor with any questions.

    • Geisel students have been the recipients of the Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship in 2021, 2020, and 2018
    • Geisel faculty have been past recpients of the Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    Geisel Chapter, AOA Councilor:

    Nancy J. McNulty MD
    Associate Professor of Radiology and Medical Education
    Imaging Longitudinal Curriculum Director

    Geisel School of Medicine
    Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center

    Geisel Chapter, AOA Administrator:

    Tina Hoisington
    Assistant to the Associate Dean for Student Affairs
    Geisel School of Medicine