Medical Student Coaching

About the Program

As part of the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth's commitment to transform medical education and graduate the complete physician, we launched our 4-year, longitudinal coaching program in August 2019.

This program connects all incoming medical students with a faculty coach for the duration of their studies at Geisel, enabling students to build close rapport with their coaches, maintain consistent academic & professional support, and engage in numerous small group and individual coaching sessions. Students meet in small group coaching sessions every six weeks, focusing on broad topics like the medical school roadmap, professional identity formation, professional enculturation, and self-regulated learning. Then, in quarterly one-on-one coaching sessions students receive individualized support in building and reflecting on their goals, challenges, and experiences. Importantly, students drive these individual sessions and are able to schedule additional one-on-one sessions with their coaches as needed.

The result of this program is improved student support in long-term planning and decision making, professional identity development, and academics throughout their time at the Geisel School of Medicine. Our coaches also serve as a key linkage to the many other academic and support services at Geisel.

The Coaching Program is directed by Colleen Kershaw, MD.

Coaching Program Content

The content of the Coaching Program falls into three overarching and frequently overlapping areas of focus: Wellbeing, Academics, and Professional Development. Students work with their coaches to develop their individualized goals within each of these content areas and there are both small group and 1:1 coaching sessions to address topics of particular importance to students during medical school.

 

 

In Phases 2 &3 students continue to work with their coach and will revisit many of the topics covered during Phase I.

Our Coaches

Graham Atkins, MBChB

MRCP Pulmonary & Critical Care
Graham.T.Atkins@Dartmouth.edu

Kathleen Clem, MD

Emergency Medicine
Kathleen.Janette.Clem@dartmouth.edu

Nancy Cochran, MD

Community and Family Medicine
Nancy.E.Cochran@Dartmouth.edu

Jeffrey Cohen, MD

Neurology
Jeffrey.A.Cohen@Dartmouth.edu

Sarah Crocket, MD

Emergency Medicine
Sarah.Crockett@Dartmouth.edu

Sarah Durante, MD

Palliative Medicine
Sarah.Rose.Durante@dartmouth.edu

Stephen Foster, MD

Radiology
Stephen.L.Foster@dartmouth.edu

John Hill, MD

Hematology
John.M.Hill.Jr@Dartmouth.edu

Judith Hills, MD

Palliative
MedicineJudith.M.Hills@Dartmouth.edu

Eric Holmgren, MD, DMD, FACS

Otolaryngology & Maxillofacial Surgery Eric.P.Holmgren@Dartmouth.edu

Barbara Homeier, MD

Pediatrics
Barbara.Homeier@Dartmouth.edu

Sarah Johansen, MD

Medicine/Emergency Medicine
Sarah.G.Johansen@Dartmouth.edu

Brian Jones, MD, PhD

Pulmonary & Critical Care
Brian.Leslie.Jones@Dartmouth.edu

Colleen Kershaw, MD

Internal Medicine - Infectious Diseases and International Health Colleen.M.Kershaw@Dartmouth.edu

Alison Kapadia, MD

Emergency Medicine
Alison.P.R.Kapadia@dartmouth.edu,

Kelly Kieffer, MD

Internal Medicine
Kelly.A.Kieffer@Dartmouth.edu

Michael Kisicki, MD

Psychiatry
Michael.David.Kisicki@dartmouth.edu

Matt Mackwood, MD, MPH

Family Medicine
Matthew.Brian.Mackwood@Dartmouth.edu

Isabella Martin, MD

Pathology
Isabella.W.Martin@dartmouth.edu

Sandra Maruszak, MD

Emergency Medicine
Sandra.Lee.Maruszak@dartmouth.edu

Samuel McWilliams, MD

Pediatrics
Samuel.B.McWilliams@Dartmouth.edu

Ashley Miller, MD

Pediatrics
Ashley.A.Miller@Dartmouth.edu

John Moeller, MD, MHA, MS

Emergency Medicine
John.T.Moeller@Dartmouth.edu

David Nierenberg, MD

Pharmacology and Toxicology
David.W.Nierenberg@Dartmouth.edu

Steven Schlozman, MD

Psychiatry
Steven.C.Schlozman@dartmouth.edu

Aaron Tannenbaum, MD

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Aaron.M.Tannenbaum@dartmouth.edu

Andrew Thomson, MD

Emergency Medicine
Andrew.J.Thomson@dartmouth.edu

Rebecca Wang, MD

Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases and International Health
Rebecca.Wang@dartmouth.edu

Julia West, MD

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Julia.C.West@Dartmouth.edu

Matthew Wilson, MD

Palliative Medicine
Matthew.M.Wilson@Dartmouth.edu

Kimberly Youngren, MD

Pain Medicine
Kimberly.Youngren@Dartmouth.edu


Contact Us

Interested in learning more about the coaching program or have questions?

Coaching Program Director
Colleen Kershaw, MD
Colleen.M.Kershaw@dartmouth.edu

Coaching Program Managers
Amy Rose
Amy.Rose@dartmouth.edu

Kaitlyn Christian
Kaitlyn.L.Christian@dartmouth.edu

Remsen Building, Room 515
Hanover, NH 03775
Tel. (603)-646-5854