Medical Student Coaching

About the Program

As part of the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth's commitment to transform medical education and graduate the complete physician, we are excited to launch our 4-year, longitudinal coaching program in August 2019.

This program connects all incoming medical students with a faculty coach for the duration of their studies at Geisel, enabling students to build close rapport with their coaches, maintain consistent academic & professional support, and engage in numerous small group and individual coaching sessions. Students meet in small group coaching sessions every six weeks, focusing on broad topics like the medical school roadmap, professional identity formation, professional enculturation, and self-regulated learning. Then, in quarterly one-on-one coaching sessions students receive individualized support in building and reflecting on their goals, challenges, and experiences. Importantly, students drive these individual sessions and are able to schedule additional one-on-one sessions with their coaches as needed.

The result of this program is improved student support in long-term planning and decision making, professional identity development, and academics throughout their time at the Geisel School of Medicine. Our coaches also serve as a key linkage to the many other academic and support services at Geisel.

The Coaching Program is directed by Kimberly Gifford, MD.

Our Coaches

Barbara Homeier MD Pediatrics Barbara.Homeier@Dartmouth.edu
Brian Jones MD, PhD Pulmonary & Critical Care Brian.Leslie.Jones@Dartmouth.edu
Colleen Kershaw MD Internal Medicine - Infectious Diseases and International Health Colleen.M.Kershaw@Dartmouth.edu
David Nierenberg MD Pharmacology and Toxicology David.W.Nierenberg@Dartmouth.edu
Eric Holmgren MD, DMD, FACS Otolaryngology & Maxillofacial Surg. Eric.P.Holmgren@Dartmouth.edu
Graham Atkins MBChB, MRCP Pulmonary & Critical Care Graham.T.Atkins@Dartmouth.edu
Jeffrey Cohen MD Neurology Jeffrey.A.Cohen@Dartmouth.edu
Kelly Kieffer MD Internal Medicine Kelly.A.Kieffer@Dartmouth.edu
Lara Ronan MD Neurology Lara.K.Ronan@Dartmouth.edu
Matt Mackwood MD, MPH Family Medicine Matthew.Brian.Mackwood@Dartmouth.edu
Nancy Cochran MD Community and Family Med Nancy.E.Cochran@Dartmouth.edu
Samuel McWilliams MD Pediatrics Samuel.B.McWilliams@Dartmouth.edu
Sarah Crockett MD Emergency Medicine Sarah.Crockett@Dartmouth.edu

Contact Us

Interested in learning more about the coaching program or have questions?

Coaching Program Director
Kimberly Gifford, MD
Kimberly.Gifford@Dartmouth.edu

Coaching Program Manager
Nick Ryan, MPA
william.n.ryan@Dartmouth.edu

Remsen Building, Room 306E
Hanover, NH 03775
Tel. (603) 650.1681
Fax (603) 650.1637

This program is one of Geisel's main efforts in its support of and membership in the Kern National Network for Caring and Character in Medicine, which co-funds the program through a grant. A special thanks to the Kern Family Foundation for its support of this Coaching Program through their grant to the Kern National Network. The Kern National Network for Caring and Character in Medicine was realized in partnership and with support from the Kern family, the Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Family Foundation, and Steve and Shelagh Roell. Their support will help the Kern National Network expand and inspire additional partners with a shared vision for building a new foundation for medical education.