Voting Members

Chair. The Chair of the MEC is chosen from the voting members of the MEC and should be a fulltime faculty member with a strong preference to be at the rank of Associate Professor or higher and have significant teaching experience in the medical school curriculum.

To ensure continuity of leadership, the elected chair will serve as a “chair elect” under the sitting chair for up to six months prior to assuming authority. The Chair is a full voting member of the committee.

Faculty. In addition to the chair, the MEC shall have up to 12, but no fewer than 9 voting faculty members, and additionally, a voting representative from the community-based faculty, and a voting representative from the Faculty Council.  These members are selected by the Faculty Council according to the Council's policies and procedures.

  • Each voting faculty member will have one vote.
  • Faculty members shall be selected based upon their experience and interest in the broad medical school curriculum.
  • There shall be no more than two voting faculty members from any one department.

The MEC shall strive for approximately equal numbers of faculty members representing pre-clinical, foundational science (Phase 1), curriculum and clinical (Phase 2 and 3) curriculum.

Students. Each medical school class, as well as the MD/PhD program, shall have four student representatives to serve on the MEC with terms expected for the duration of their enrollment as students at the Geisel School of Medicine with each class having one vote. Selection will be made from students with expressed interest in and experience with medical education and/or curriculum. The student affairs dean will receive student nominations and share all qualified applicants with student government for election by student government.

  • Each medical school class shall ensure at least one class representative will be present at each meeting.
  • During times of curricular change or important curricular discussion, at the discretion of the MEC Chair and the SADME, additional students from Phases 2 and 3 may be invited to ensure the medical student perspective is incorporated into discussion and decisions (with each class still having one vote per class).

Members who fail to attend the majority of meetings without cause shall be excused from the Committee.

Non-voting Members

Ex-officio MEC members are not elected nor appointed, rather they serve in an advisory position because of their expertise.  These individuals will provide the benefit of their knowledge and experience with the curriculum and the impact of current policies and proposed changes.  Ex-officio, non-voting members shall include the following:

  • Associate Dean for Admissions
  • Associate Dean for Biomedical Science Integration
  • Associate Dean for Clinical Education
  • Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Associate Dean for Preclinical Education
  • Associate Dean for Student Affairs
  • Associate Dean for Evaluation and Assessment
  • Associate Director, Instructional Technologies
  • Chair, Department of Medical Education
  • Chair, Geisel Academy of Master Educators
  • Coordinator, Assessment and Curriculum Inventory
  • Co-Directors, Scientific Basis of Medicine (until July 2020)
  • Director, Biomedical Libraries
  • Director, Clinical Education
  • Director, Evaluation and Assessment
  • Director, Instructional Technologies
  • Director, Learning Support and Student Accessibility Services
  • Director, Preclinical Education
  • Instructional Designer
  • Registrar
  • Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
  • Student Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement (DICE) Representatives; (n=2, Phase 1, and Phase 2 & 3)
  • Student Government Vice Chairs for Academics; (n=2)

Additional guests and non-voting members may attend as well.