Home » News

Cathy Morrow, MD, Named the 2022 New Hampshire Family Physician of the Year by the New Hampshire Academy of Family Physicians

Cathleen E. Morrow, MD, Associate Professor of Community & Family Medicine, at Dartmouth’s Geisel School of Medicine and Dartmouth Health, has been named the 2022 New Hampshire Family Physician of the Year by the New Hampshire Academy of Family Physicians (NHAFP). The award was presented at NHAFP’s Meeting of its Members at the Mountain View Grand Resort in Whitefield, NH, on Saturday, May 14, 2022. Morrow practices at Dartmouth Hitchcock Clinics Heater Road in Lebanon, NH.

Cathleen E. Morrow, MD

“I’m so honored to be named the New Hampshire Family Physician of the Year by the statewide academy of Family Medicine,” said Morrow. “It is wonderful to be recognized for doing work that you love and deeply believe in.”

Morrow received her Doctor of Medicine and was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society at the University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont in 1987. She completed her residency in Family Medicine at the University of Rochester’s Highland Hospital in Rochester, NY, in 1990, as well as a Family Medicine Faculty Development Program at Dartmouth Medical School (now Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth) in Hanover, NH, in 2000. Prior to attending medical school, she trained and practiced as a midwife in Oregon and rural Maine.

Morrow was faculty at the Maine-Dartmouth Family Medicine Residency in central Maine from 1993 until her move to the Geisel School of Medicine and Dartmouth Hitchcock in 2008. Her clinical and teaching work centered on women’s health and advocacy for equitable healthcare.

Morrow transitioned into the role of Director of the Community and Family Medicine Clerkship and Pre-Doctoral programs at Geisel and Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center in 2008. She served as director of the Rural Health Scholars from 2008–2012, and Director of the Family Medicine Clerkship from 2008–2016; Section Chief and Vice Chair of the department from 2012–2014.  In 2015, she was elected to the Geisel Academy of Master Educators and was named Chair of the Department Community & Family Medicine, serving in this role until this March. Morrow has contributed extensively to the medical school curriculum in primary care venues and continues to serve as a passionate advocate for the role of primary care within and without the academic health system. Her current research interests are focused on shared decision making and physician communication skills alongside advocacy for health equity.

NHAFP was established in 1949. It is a non-profit organization committed to promoting the science and art of medicine for the betterment of the public health and assuming responsible public advocacy in all health related matters. Membership of the NHAFP includes family physicians, family practice residents, and medical students.