Home » News

Alumni Contributions to Medicine, Healthcare, and Community Honored at Awards Ceremony

It was a celebration three years in the making: On May 20, 2022, the Geisel School of Medicine Alumni Awards Ceremony was held in person for the first time since 2019. The seven honorees were joined by fellow alumni, Geisel faculty and students, family, friends, and colleagues. Representing a range of class years and career paths, the award recipients expressed profound gratitude for their Dartmouth medical school education. A complete list of the 2022 alumni award recipients appears below.

In his welcoming remarks, Geisel Alumni Council President John Houde MED ’92 said, “I’m in awe of the accomplishments of the honorees tonight. Their efforts seem superhuman. We are very proud of them.”

Career Achievement Award recipient Joseph P. Lynch, III MED’71, the Holt and Jo Hickman Endowed Chair in Advanced Lung Disease and Lung Transplantation at the University of California, Los Angeles, spoke of his time in medical school and the strong sense of community and inclusiveness at Geisel. “Dartmouth is a superb environment for learning medicine, and it also assures positive interactions with students, staff, patients, and others,” said Lynch. “I will always appreciate the relationships nurtured at Dartmouth and the lessons learned about medicine and life.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos by Lars Blackmore

Lisa V. Adams MED’90, associate dean for global health and a professor in the Department of Medicine at Geisel, was one of two alumni honored with the Outstanding Service Award. Passionate about working with underserved communities since she applied at medical school, Adams credits Geisel with helping her realize her dream to “work with all populations marginalized by inequitable systems regardless of where they live.” She said, “Support from my Dartmouth mentors and colleagues has fueled my strong desire to pay it forward. My Dartmouth students have been my other source of sustenance over the years . . . pushing me to want to be a worthy role model. So maybe this shouldn’t be an outstanding service award, but rather an ‘I’m trying to pay it forward’ award.”

The medical school’s Alumni Council established the alumni awards program in 2014 to recognize and honor alumni for service to the school and to celebrate the achievements of graduates who have distinguished themselves in the fields of medicine, science, or other endeavors.

See below for a list of this year’s awardees, and read their full bios here.


John D. Bullock MED’66

Emeritus Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology and The Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio

Dr. John Bullock has had a distinguished career in clinical and academic ophthalmology. He has over 240 publications to his credit, and has cared for over 50,000 patients, performed over 10,000 ocular/orbital operations, documented 3 new causes of blindness, and elucidated the cause and/or description of 10 different retinal disorders.

Joseph P. Lynch III MED’71

Holt and Jo Hickman Endowed Chair in Advanced Lung Disease and Lung Transplantation; Distinguished Professor of Clinical Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles

Dr. Joseph P. Lynch III is a world-renowned pulmonary medicine and critical care clinician and an expert in interstitial lung disease, lung transplantation, vasculitis, sarcoidosis, other rare pulmonary diseases, and pulmonary and opportunistic infections. In 2021, he established the Joseph P. Lynch III Endowed Scholarship Fund at Dartmouth (Geisel) Medical School.

Kathryn E. McGoldrick MED’68

Professor and Chairman Emerita, Department of Anesthesiology, New York Medical College

An anesthesiologist and historian of the field, Dr. Kathryn McGoldrick achieved emeritus rank at New York Medical College, where she was professor and chair of anesthesiology, as well as advisory dean for student affairs and residency program director. Throughout her career, she has participated in the Dartmouth Medical School Alumni Council.

Ernst J. Schaefer MED’70

Chief Medical Officer & Laboratory Director, Boston Heart Diagnostics, Framingham, Mass., and Distinguished University Professor, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, Mass.

Dr. Ernst Schaefer has devoted his career to finding optimal ways to diagnose and treat patients with the various forms of dyslipidemia for the prevention of coronary heart disease. He has been responsible for describing two new inborn errors of metabolism, as well as defining lipoprotein metabolism before and after various dietary modifications and pharmacologic therapies, including statins.


Lisa V. Adams MED’90, faculty

Associate Dean for Global Health, Geisel School of Medicine; Professor, Department of Medicine, Geisel School of Medicine

Since joining the Geisel faculty as an instructor in 2002, Dr. Lisa Adams has launched numerous interdisciplinary global health equity educational programs and opportunities across the institution. She currently serves as director of Geisel’s Center for Global Health Equity and as the faculty lead of Dartmouth’s Global Health Initiative at Dartmouth’s Dickey Center for International Understanding.

Alan A. Rozycki D’61, MED’63, faculty emeritus

Emeritus Professor of Pediatrics, Geisel School of Medicine

Dr. Alan Rozycki joined the Dartmouth Medical School faculty in 1972 as an assistant professor of clinical maternal and pediatric health, and spent 18 years as a full professor before being awarded emeritus status in 2012. A longstanding alumni volunteer, he has served as the Geisel representative to the Dartmouth College Alumni Council and as secretary since 2010 for the medical school Class of 1961.


Samuel F. Bakhoum PhD’11, MED’13

Assistant Professor, Louis V. Gerstner Jr. Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Cornell University

Dr. Samuel Bakhoum investigates chromosomal instability, which is present in 60–80% of all cancers and is associated with poor survival in many patients. His research—funded by the National Institutes of Health as well as private foundation awards—elucidates the role of chromosomal instabilities both in primary malignancies and in the process of metastasis.