Home » News

New Members Inducted into Geisel Academy of Master Educators

New GAME inductees Bill Nelson, Vincent Memoli, Jeffrey Kuvin, Justin Mowchun, and Patricia Lanter with Geisel Dean Duane Compton.

After the annual State of the Medical School address on May 15, Dean Duane Compton welcomed four new faculty members to the Geisel Academy of Master Educators (GAME) and honored another with a lifetime achievement award.

The Geisel Academy of Master Educators are a distinguished group of faculty nominated by their colleagues here at Geisel. The awardees possess a demonstrated commitment to excellence in teaching and medical education. Academy members are leaders in medical education and innovation at Geisel and raise the overall quality of education by furthering the passion for excellence in teaching and learning and in mentoring faculty and residents on their journey to becoming great teachers.

“This event honoring our newest GAME members is a real highlight of the year for both me and our school,” said Compton. “These outstanding faculty are being recognized by their peers for their dedication to excellence in education and to training outstanding physicians.”

The new GAME members were introduced by students and colleagues who shared personal stories about the influence and mentorship they received from the inductees.

The 2018 Academy of Master Educators inductees are:

  • Jeffrey Kuvin, MD, Professor of Medicine
  • Patricia Lanter, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine and Health Policy and Clinical Practice
  • Justin Mowchun, MD, Assistant Professor of Neurology and Medical Education
  • Bill Nelson, PhD, MDiv, Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Community and Family Medicine, and Health Policy and Clinical Practice

The 2018 GAME Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Vincent Memoli, MD, Active Emeritus Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.