Home » News

The 2nd Annual Geisel Alumni Awards: Honoring Exceptional Contributions to Medicine and Public Health



For their transformative contributions to medicine and public health, as well as their service to the medical school, eight alumni are being honored by the Geisel School of Medicine. The honorees will receive their awards and participate in a panel discussion that is open to the public:

Awards Ceremony and Panel Discussion
November 6, 2015
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Williamson Translational Research Building Auditorium
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, N.H.
For more information, please contact the Geisel Office of Alumni Relations at (603) 653-0726.

The Geisel School proudly recognizes the following alumni for their exemplary accomplishments and service:


Alan J. Friedman, MD, D’56 MED’57
Year after year, Dr. Alan Friedman continues to be an exceptional volunteer for the medical school and his 1957 classmates. He cares deeply about medical education, as evidenced by his service to the school and his generous gift to establish the Friedman Family Legacy Fellowship for Teaching the Art and Practice of Medicine at the Geisel School of Medicine.


Sarah S. Donaldson, MD, MED’66
The Catharine and Howard Avery Professor, Stanford School of Medicine; Chief, Radiation Oncology Service, Lucile Packard Children's Hospital and Stanford Hospital
Dr. Sarah Donaldson is an internationally known physician-scientist who has led the way in developing and testing regimens that reduce children’s exposure to radiation while sustaining good therapeutic outcomes—a complex and difficult task.

Karen Hein, MD, MED’68
Adjunct Professor of Community and Family Medicine, Geisel School of Medicine; Visiting Fellow, Feinstein International Center, Tufts University
Nationally known for her work in health administration and youth development, Dr. Karen Hein has successfully connected people with differing views, disciplines, and perspectives to create policies and programs that address the most pressing and unmet societal needs.

Haig H. Kazazian Jr., MD, D’59 MED’60
Professor of Pediatrics and of Molecular Biology and Genetics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Since the 1970s, Dr. Haig Kazazian has been at the forefront of genetic medicine, discovering previously unknown aspects of human genetics and their relationships to particular diseases.

Martin H. Weiss, MD, D’60 MED’61
The Martin H. Weiss Chair in Neurological Surgery, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California
Dr. Martin Weiss chaired the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Southern California for 26 years, contributing broadly to his field, to the training of neurosurgical residents, and to the care of thousands of patients.

Douglas P. Zipes, MD, D’61 MED’62
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Pharmacology and Toxicology and Director Emeritus of the Krannert Institute of Cardiology, Indiana University School of Medicine
Dr. Douglas Zipes is among the world’s leading cardiac electrophysiologists, having made transformational contributions to the understanding and treatment of cardiac conditions.


Roy Wade, Jr. MD, PhD, MPH, MED'07
Instructor of Pediatrics, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; Stoneleigh Foundation Fellow
Dr. Roy Wade works to improve health outcomes for at-risk populations, with a particular focus on the role of social determinants—such as poverty, racism, and peer victimization—in the persistence of health disparities.

Narath Carlile, MD, MPH, MED'09
Chief Medical Officer and Chief Information Officer, Accountable Care Transactions; General Internist, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Instructor, Harvard Medical School
Dr. Narath Carlile uses his expertise in information technology to improve communication and coordination among health care providers in this country and abroad. He also cares for patients as a general internist at Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

A reception will follow the Awards Ceremony at 5:30.

Revised: Please RSVP for the reception to Annette.M.Rine@hitchcock.org 603-653-0726.