Announcing the 2017 SYNERGY Translational Pilot Grant Awards

Congratulations to the 2017 SYNERGY Translational Pilot Grant Awardees! Following a review of 35 letters of intent, SYNERGY invited 14 full applications from which six awardees were selected. Aligning with SYNERGY’s mission of fostering collaborative interactions between basic, translational, and health services researchers, the awardees come from diverse Dartmouth schools and departments. 

John Batsis, MD (Associate Professor, Medicine and TDI) and David Kotz, PhD (Professor, Computer Science) - A Pilot Study of an eHealth-delivered Health Coaching Intervention

Scott Davis, PhD (Assistant Research Professor, Engineering/Thayer) and Kimberley Samkoe, PhD (Assistant Research Professor, Surgery; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Engineering/Thayer) - Bio-slice: Whole-body, High-resolution 3-D Biodistribution Imaging of Multiple Agents

Jibran Khokhar, PhD (Instructor, Psychiatry) and Kyle Smith, PhD (Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences) - Does a Brain Reward Circuit Dysfunction Underlie Substance use in Schizophrenia? Toward a Novel Avenue for Treatment Development

Geoffrey Luke, PhD (Assistant Professor, Engineering/Thayer) and Lesley Jarvis, MD, PhD (Associate Professor, Medicine) - Ultrasound Image-Guided Delivery of Oxygen-Carrying Nanoparticles for Radiation Therapy

Charles Sentman, PhD (Professor, Microbiology and Immunology) and Margaret Ackerman, PhD (Assistant Professor, Engineering/Thayer) – Engineering Human Regulatory T Cells to Target the Extracellular Fibrils That Form in Neural Tissue in Parkinson’s Disease

Craig Tomlinson, PhD (Associate Professor, Medicine) and Shodeinde Coker, MD (Instructor, Medicine, Hematology-Oncology) – Preclinical Study of the Aryl Hydrocarbon Receptor and Other Biomarkers in Human Adipose Tissue and their Potential Links Among Obesity and Breast Cancer

SYNERGY Leadership extends its sincere thanks to the 2017 SYNERGY Translational Pilot Application Review Committee for their hard work during the review process to select these Pilot Awardees. 

Read More: