Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) was established under section 13(b) of the Animal Welfare Act. Act (AWA). Institutions receiving PHS funding for activities involving vertebrate animals is subject to the authority of the AWA and the Health Research Extension Act of 1985. The committee members are appointed by the CEO, or designee (referred to an the Institutional Official (IO)). It shall consist of at least five (5) members, one of whom is the attending veterinarian of the research facility however, if the research facility has more than one Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM), another DVM with delegated program responsibility may serve), one practicing scientist with animal research experience, one non-scientist, and one of whom is not affiliated in any way with the facility other than as a member of the community, The research facility shall establish the Committee for the purpose of evaluating the care, treatment, housing, and use of animals, and for certifying compliance with the Act by the research facility.

-9CFR Ch.1